April 28, 1998
MESSAGE TO THE SIGNWRITING EMAIL LIST

SUBJECT: Re: Message #2 from Brazil...

Date: Tue, 28 Apr 1998 08:33:58 -0700
To: SignWriting <DAC@SignWriting.org>
Subject: Re: Message #2 from Brazil...

Please Post to the SignWriting List:

Good Morning,

I've been mulling over some responses to the various postings that began with Mairanne's request for comments on children's learning of SignWriting. As a teacher, I've used various systems and approaches to teach "writing" of ASL to children and adults. Although my experience is more heavily emphasized in the use of a glossing system, I'm less intersted in the actual system itself but more interested in what the community of language users find acceptable. In other words, I don't have a vested interest in using a glossing system per se. In a 1992 article I wrote on a program for deaf adolescents, the deaf students were writing in a glossing system which as a group, we formalized to separate the languages (at that time, in education, there wasn't much talk about ASL and the students didn't know what it was!). In that particular project, the use and standardization of what the students already were using was significant, we didn't start from "scratch." The students developed symbols for facial grammar that interestingly bear some resemblance to particular symbols in SignWriting (I'm still learning SignWriting and can't go into much depth here, I'm still looking at the data).

In a different program where I later taught freshman English, one of my students had developed a system for writing ASL beginning from the time he was a child at a residential school for the deaf. Fascinating!