October 1997 - May 1998

Search by Date Search by Subject

Search Archive 2 Search Archive 3

May 8, 1998
MESSAGE TO THE SIGNWRITING EMAIL LIST

SUBJECT: Standardization of ASL

Date: Fri, 8 May 1998 14:21:00 -0400
X-Sender: ianw@stn.net
To: DAC@SignWriting.org (Valerie Sutton)
Subject: Standardization of ASL

PLEASE POST TO LIST

Hello everyone,

I have been following the list with great interest for some time now, and have become firmly committed to the promotion of SignWriting.

I did not get into SignWriting from a professional point of view, though my background is in Speech Pathology, but from a personal one. My husband and I recently expanded our family to five, by adopting a little boy who is deaf, and I have therefore been looking for as much information as possible relating to ASL. We have been learning for about a year, so are still novices, but our son is doing incredibly well.

Something that I have noticed in taking classes, following videos and reading books, is that ASL vocabulary differs widely across North America. No sooner have I learned a sign, but we have to relearn it as it is not the sign of use in this part of Ontario. Some signs are in use only at the local school for the deaf. Now that I have been reading the grammar file in the SignWriting programme, I realise that the grammar is also different! For instance, we have been taught that the verb must always come after the subject and object of the sentence. Some examples from the file include the signed sentence, " you go home " where our signed word order would be " home you go " with the object first, subject second and the verb last.

A couple of other examples:-

" Suppose I money, I buy book " here becomes " Suppose money I have, book I buy "

" Suppose rain, I stay home " here becomes " Suppose rain, home I stay "