forum SignWriting List Forum
  Message 2581  |  Previous | Next  [ Up Thread ] Message Index
Date:  Wed Jan 12, 2000  3:13 pm
Subject:  New Member

Hi Everybody!

My name is Ingrid Foggitt and I am writing this from South Africa.  I was introduced to Sign Writing a few months ago through the Internet.

Sign Writing has a special interest for me because I teach Deaf children at Fulton School for the Deaf in Kwazulu-Natal.  We are about 15 miles (25 km) from Durban.  Not meaning to boast, but  I am one of the two qualified Deaf teachers in South Africa which does say a lot about where we are at!  I obtained by Bachelor of Arts in Education (4 yrs) degree at the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg (one of the capital cities of South Africa).  Of course, I had a full-time interpreter throughout my studies.  I have been teaching at Fulton for the last three years, 2000 being my fourth.  I have taught many subjects in such a short time!  Geography, General Science, Environmental Studies, Business Skills, HOme Economics, Humanities, English, Sign Language and Deaf Studies.  One would most definitely think that I had been at it for 10 years or more, but thats not so  :)